Recovering Files and Folders with the Recycle

The Recycle Bin provides protection against accidental erasure of files . In most cases, when you delete one or more files or folders, the deleted items go to the Recycle Bin, not into the ether. If you change your mind, you can go to the bin and recover the thrown-out items . Eventually, when the bin fills up, Windows begins emptying it, permanently deleting the files that have been there the longest.

The following kinds of deletions do not go to the Recycle Bin:

• Files stored on removable disks

• Files stored on network drives, even when that volume is on a computer that has its own Recycle Bin

• Files deleted from a command prompt

• Files deleted from compressed (zipped) folders

You can bypass the Recycle Bin yourself, permanently deleting an item, by holding down the Shift key while you press the Delete key. You might want to do this if you need to get rid of some very large files and you're sure you'll never want those files back. Skipping the Recycle Bin in this case will reclaim some disk space .

You can also turn off the Recycle Bin's services permanently, as we explain in the following section

Changing Recycle Bin Settings

To see and adjust the amount of space currently used by the Recycle Bin for each drive that it protects, right-click the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop and choose Properties from the shortcut menu. In the Recycle Bin Properties dialog box (shown in Figure 10-1), you can select a drive and enter a different value in the Custom Size box. Windows ordinarily allocates up to 10 percent of a disk's space for recycling. (When the bin is full, the oldest items give way to the newest.) If you think that amount of space is excessive, enter a lower value .

Figure 10-1 You can use the Recycle Bin Properties dialog box to alter the amount of space devoted to the bin—or to turn the feature off for selected drives .

If you'd rather do without the Recycle Bin for a particular drive, select the drive from the Recycle Bin Properties dialog box and then click Do Not Move Files To The Recycle Bin. Remove Files Immediately When Deleted. This action is equivalent to setting the maximum capacity to 0.

Whether the Recycle Bin is enabled or disabled, Windows normally displays a confirmation prompt when you delete something. If that prompt annoys you, clear the Display Delete Confirmation Dialog check box.

Restoring Files and Folders

When you open the Recycle Bin, Windows displays the names of recently deleted items in an ordinary Windows Explorer window. In Details view (see Figure 10-2), you can see when each item was deleted and which folder it was deleted from . You can use the column

Note

If you don't see a Recycle Bin icon on your desktop, it's probably hidden. To make it visible, right-click the desktop, choose Personalize, and then click Change Desktop Icons . In the Desktop Icon Settings dialog box, select Recycle Bin and click OK. If you use the Show All Folders option in Windows Explorer (see "Navigating in Windows Explorer" on page 272), you'll have access to the Recycle Bin from the bottom of the Folders pane . _J

headings to sort the folder—for example, to display the items that have been deleted most recently at the top, with earlier deletions below. Alternatively, you can organize the bin by disk and folder by clicking the Original Location heading. If these methods don't help you find what you're hoping to restore, use the search box.

Figure 10-2 Sorting the Recycle Bin in Details view can help you find what you need to restore; so can the search box.

Note that deleted folders are shown only as folders; you don't see the names of items contained within the folders . If you restore a deleted folder, however, Windows re-creates the folder and its contents .

The Restore This Item command (on the toolbar) puts the item back in the folder from which it was deleted. If that folder doesn't currently exist, Windows asks your permission to re-create it. If no object is selected, a Restore All Items option is available on the toolbar. If your Recycle Bin contains hundreds or thousands of deleted files dating back weeks or months, this option can create chaos It's most useful if you recently emptied the Recycle Bin and all of its current contents are visible

( X )' 1® * Recycle Bin ►

▼ 1 ++ 1 1 Search Recycle Bin

fi\

Organize ▼ Empty the Recycle Bin Restore this item

1= r ED m

, Favorite ■ Deskto Downl . Recent j Librari

- Docurr ji Music S3 Picture H Videos Windo

4$/ Homegr

Comput Winix Win7 x ^^ Media

Network fiB CHFRI

Name

Original Location

Date Deleted

H gOeuvTll

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2009 5:53 PM

H g06w712

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

|3 g06w713

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Window; 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H t06w715

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7V

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H f06w716

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

12 f06w717

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

U f06w718

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H f06w719

C:\Ujers\Cra

g\Documents\Windowj 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H f06w720

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7V.

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H g06w701

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

|3 g06w702

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Window; 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H g06w703

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7V

6/4/2009 5:53 PM

H f06w711

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

|S f06w712

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7V.

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

U f06w713

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H f06w714

C:\Ujers\Cra

g\Documents\Windowj 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H f06w704

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

H f06w705

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Windows 7\..

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

|3 f06w706

C:\Users\Cra

g\Documents\Window; 7V

6/4/2003 5:53 PM

C:\Use rs\C ra g\Documents\Windows 7\M... Bitmap image

SiiiH

Date modified: 6/3/2009 3:45 PM Dimensions: 705 h584

Size: 131 MB Date created: 6/3/2009 3:45 PM

If you want, you can restore a file or folder to a different location . Select the item, choose Edit, Move To Folder, and then specify the new location . (If the menu bar isn't currently visible, you can right-click the item, choose Cut, and then paste it in the new location .) Or, simplest of all, you can drag the item out of the Recycle Bin and put it where you want it.

Purging the Recycle Bin

A deleted file sitting in your Recycle Bin takes up as much space as it did before it was deleted. If you're deleting files to free up space for new programs and documents, transferring them to the Recycle Bin won't help . You need to remove them permanently. The safest way to do this is to move the items to another storage medium—a different hard disk or a removable disk, for example .

If you're sure you'll never need a particular file again, however, you can delete it in the normal way, and then purge it from the Recycle Bin . Display the Recycle Bin, select the item, and then press Delete

To empty the Recycle Bin entirely, right-click the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop and choose Empty Recycle Bin from the shortcut menu. Or display the Recycle Bin and click Empty The Recycle Bin on the toolbar.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Ultimate Computer Repair Guide

The Ultimate Computer Repair Guide

Read how to maintain and repair any desktop and laptop computer. This Ebook has articles with photos and videos that show detailed step by step pc repair and maintenance procedures. There are many links to online videos that explain how you can build, maintain, speed up, clean, and repair your computer yourself. Put the money that you were going to pay the PC Tech in your own pocket.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment