Note

You might see other permission levels if you return to the Sharing wizard after you set up sharing . Contribute indicates Modify permission. Custom indicates NTFS permissions other than Read & Execute, Modify, or Full Control. Mixed appears if you select multiple items and they have different sharing settings . Owner, of course, identifies the owner of the item.

5. Click Share . After a few moments, the wizard displays a page like the one shown in Figure 18-6.

^^ 7Jj File Sharing

Your folders are shared.

You can iejriajj someone links to these shared items, or copy and paste the links into another program.

Individual Items My Stationery

\Jkv \\cARL -P C\U s e rs\C a rl\D o c u m e nts\My Stati o n e ty Travel v) \\C ARL - P C\U s e rs\C a rl\D o c u m e nts\Tra ve 1

A

¡\ Shared items aren't accessible when your computer is asleep.

Show me all the network shares on this computer.

| Done

Figure 18-6 The Sharing wizard displays the network path for each item you've shared.

6. In the final step of the wizard, you can do any of the following:

• Send an e-mail message to the people with whom you're sharing. The message includes a link to the shared folder or file.

[J I've shared files with you - Unicode (UTF-8)

1= E H|'

Send Save Attach Check names Priority: High Low

LÜ To; Kelly

CO Cc: Carl

00 Bcc:

Subject: I've shared files with you

Hide Cc &Bcc

A^i Format |ȣAdd photos

« - Stationery - Calibri - 12 • B I U A - .: HI T != * 1= *

- ft-- ft

I've shared some of my files or folders with you. To open them, just click the link(s) below.

My Stationery Cfile://CAEl-PC/U'sers/Carl®ocumerLts/My%20Stationery')

Travel (file ://CAKL-P C/TJs ers/C arl® ocuments/Travel)

• Copy the network path to the Clipboard. This is handy if you want to send a link via instant messenger or other application .

• Double-click a share name to open the shared item .

• Open a search folder that shows all the folders and files you're sharing.

When you're finished with these tasks, click Done.

Creating a share requires privilege elevation, but after a folder has been shared, the share is available to network users no matter who is logged on to your computer—or even when nobody is logged on

INSIDE OUT

Use advanced sharing to create shorter network paths

Confusingly, when you share one of your profile folders (or any other subfolder of %SystemDrive%\Users), Windows creates a network share for the Users folder—not for the folder you shared . This isn't a security problem; NTFS permissions prevent network users from seeing any folders or files except the ones you explicitly share. But it does lead to some long Universal Naming Convention (UNC) paths to network shares . For example, if you share the Travel subfolder of Documents (as shown in Figure 18-6), the network path is \\CARL-PC\Users\Carl\Documents\Travel . If this same folder had been anywhere on your computer outside of the Users folder, no matter how deeply nested, the network path would instead be \\CARL-PC\Travel. Other people to whom you've granted access wouldn't need to click through a series of folders to find the files in the intended target folder.

Network users, of course, can map a network drive or save a shortcut to your target folder to avoid this problem . But you can work around it from the sharing side too: use advanced sharing to share the folder directly. (Do this after you've used the Sharing wizard to set up permissions .) For more information, see "Setting Advanced Sharing Properties" on page 639. (And while you're doing that, be sure the share name you create doesn't have spaces . Eliminating them makes it easier to type a share path that works as a link.)

Stopping or Changing Sharing of a File or Folder n

If you want to stop sharing a particular shared file or folder, select it in Windows Explorer and click Share With, Nobody. Doing so removes access control entries that are not inherited. In addition, the network share is removed; the folder will no longer be visible in another user's Network folder.

To change share permissions, choose Share With, Specific People. In the File Sharing dialog box (shown earlier in Figure 18-3), you add users, change permissions, or remove users . (To stop sharing with a particular user, click the arrow by the user's name and choose Remove.)

Setting Advanced Sharing Properties

With Advanced Sharing, you configure network shares independently of NTFS permissions. (For more information about this distinction, see the sidebar, "How Shared Resource Permissions and NTFS Permissions Work Together" on page 642.) To open Advanced Sharing, right-click a folder, choose Properties, and click the Sharing tab . Or, if the Sharing wizard is disabled, select a folder and on the toolbar (or right-click menu) choose Advanced Sharing. Both methods display the Sharing tab, which is shown in Figure 18-7 .

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Digital Cancers

Digital Cancers

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success At Protecting Your PC. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To The Damaging Facts About Computer Viruses.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment