Note

If the folder is already shared and you want to add another share name (perhaps with different permissions), click Add and then type the name for the new share.

The share name is the name that other users will see in their own Network folders . Windows initially proposes to use the folder's name as its share name . That's usually a good choice, but you're not obligated to accept it. If you already have a shared folder with that name, you'll need to pick a different name.

4. Type a description of the folder's contents in the Comments box.

Other users will see this description when they inspect the folder's properties dialog box in their Network folder (or use Details view).

5. To limit the number of users who can connect to the shared folder concurrently, specify a number in the box. Windows 7 permits up to 20 concurrent network connections, which means that up to 10 users can access a share at one time. (If you need to share a resource with more than 10 users at once, you must use Windows Server.)

6. Click Permissions .

The default shared resource permission associated with a new share is Read access to Everyone .

caution!

When you share a folder, you also make that folder's subfolders available on the network . If the access permissions you set for the folder aren't appropriate for any of its subfolders, either reconsider your choice of access permissions or restructure your folders to avoid the problem .

7. In the Group Or User Names list, select the name of the user or group you want to manage .

The shared resource permissions for the selected user or group appear below in the permissions list.

8. Select Allow, Deny, or neither for each access control entry:

• Full Control Allows users to create, read, write, rename, and delete files in the folder and its subfolders . In addition, users can change permissions and take ownership of files on NTFS volumes .

• Change Allows users to read, write, rename, and delete files in the folder and its subfolders but not create new files.

• Read Allows users to read files but not write to them or delete them .

If you select neither Allow nor Deny, it is still possible that the user or group can inherit the permission through membership in another group that has the permission . If the user or group doesn't belong to another such group, the user or group is implicitly denied permission

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Digital Cancers

Digital Cancers

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success At Protecting Your PC. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To The Damaging Facts About Computer Viruses.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment