If you select Everyone and you have password-protected sharing enabled, the user must still have a valid account on your computer. However, if you have turned off password-protected sharing, network users can gain access only if you grant permission to Everyone or to Guest.
4. For each user, select a permission level. Your choices are
• Read Users with this permission level can view shared files and run shared programs, but they cannot change or delete files. Selecting Read in the Sharing wizard is equivalent to setting NTFS permissions to Read & Execute.
• Read/Write Users assigned the Read/Write permission have the same privileges you do as owner: they can view, change, add, and delete files in a shared folder. Selecting Read/Write sets NTFS permissions to Full Control for this user.
Was this article helpful?