Inside Out

Formatting does not remove a volume's data

Whatever formatting options you choose, you will be warned that the action of formatting a volume makes that volume's data inaccessible. That's true. Whatever data is there when you format will no longer be available to you by normal means after you format. Unless you use the /P switch, the data remains in some form, however. If you're really concerned about covering tracks, either use the format /Px (where x represents the number of passes) or wipe the disk after you format it, by using the command-line program Cipher.exe, with the /W switch. (Type cipher /? at the command prompt for details )

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Digital Cancers

Digital Cancers

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success At Protecting Your PC. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To The Damaging Facts About Computer Viruses.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment