Editing Your Storyboard

As you add media items to the storyboard, Windows Movie Maker lists the runtime of the video as the second time entry in the preview area. This runtime may change if you modify the transitions and effects applied. Most single-sided DVDs can have a total

Stanek Family Home Videos Volume 1

Figure 10-24. Using the Preview controls to manage playback

running time of up to 150 minutes. Most single-sided double-layered DVDs can have a total running time of up to 300 minutes.

After you add items, you can fine-tune the play order. To change the play order of an item or a group of items, select the item or items and then drag left or right until you reach the desired position. To remove an item, right-click it and then select Remove. Removing an item removes it from the storyboard but does not delete it from your computer.

While you are optimizing the play order, you may want to preview the video. As Figure 10-24 shows, the Preview pane provides the following button controls:

Play/Pause

If you click the Play button, the video plays from the current position in the storyboard. Clicking the Play button again pauses playback.

Previous Frame

Rewinds to the previous frame of the video. Next Frame

Advances to the next frame of the video.

Split

Splits a video clip you are playing into two clips at the current position.

Above the button controls, you'll find a Timeline slider for previewing your video and managing playback. If you click and drag the Current Frame button on the end of the Timeline slider, you can fast-forward or rewind through a video. If you click a specific part of the timeline, you can go to that time in the video.

On the left side of the Storyboard pane, you'll find Play/Pause buttons as well as a Rewind Storyboard button. Clicking the Rewind Storyboard button moves to and selects the first storyboard in your video.

Anytime you are working with video clips, you have several editing options. When you are playing video clips, you can:

• Click the Split button to split the video into two clips at the current position.

• Trim the video so that it only includes footage from the current position to the end of the clip by clicking Clips-Clip Trim Beginning, or by pressing I.

• Trim the video so that it only includes footage from the current position to the beginning of the clip by clicking Clips-Clip Trim End, or by pressing O.

• Clear trim points to restore the original video clip by clicking ClipsClear Trim Points.

• Combine video clips you previously split by selecting the videos and then clicking ClipsCombine, or by pressing N.

While you are fixing your storyboard, you can use the Undo button to undo any changes you don't like, or the redo button to redo changes you previously undid. Multiple undo and redo changes are saved, allowing you to step backward and forward through changes. You can also undo and redo specific changes.

To undo a specific change or changes, follow these steps:

1. Click the option button to the right of the Undo button. This displays a shortcut menu with a list of Undo changes, as shown in Figure 10-25.

2. The most recent change is listed first. To undo this change, click it.

3. You can also undo multiple actions, but only in the exact order in which they were performed. To undo multiple actions, drag down until all the actions you want to undo are selected, and then click the shortcut menu.

To redo a specific change or changes, follow these steps:

1. Click the option button to the right of the Redo button. This displays a shortcut menu with a list of Redo changes, as shown in Figure 10-26.

2. The most recent change is listed first. To redo this change, click it.

Split

Remove Clip lile Properties

Mid dip File Properties File Properties File Properties Import Media Items

Undo 3 Actions

Figure 10-25. Selecting the changes to undo

Figure 10-26. Selecting the changes to redo

3. You can also redo multiple actions, but only in the exact order in which they were performed. To redo multiple actions, drag down until all the actions you want to redo are selected, and then click the shortcut menu.

By default, each picture in the slideshow is displayed for 5 seconds, and transitions last 1.25 seconds. You'll be able to change this setting later. See "Setting Video Options" on page 421 for details.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment