Configuring and Tuning UAC

Always notify

Always notifies you when programs try to install software or make changes to the computer and when you change Windows settings. You should choose this option when a computer requires the highest security possible and you frequently install software and visit unfamiliar websites. Default—notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer

Notifies you only when programs try to make changes to the computer and not when you change Windows settings. You should choose this option when a computer requires high security and you want to reduce the number of notification prompts.

Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer (do not dim my desktop)

Works the same as Default but also prevents User Account Control from switching to the secure desktop. You should choose this option when you work in a trusted environment with familiar applications and do not visit unfamiliar websites. You may also want to use this option when it takes a long time for your computer to switch to the secure desktop. Never notify

Turns off all User Account Control notification prompts. You should choose this option when security is not a priority and you work in a trusted environment.

3. Click OK. If you selected Never Notify, you will need to restart your computer for this change to take effect.

Depending on the current configuration of UAC, you may be prompted for permissions or consent, as discussed previously. Because this is an inherent part of the user interface and a feature that you can enable or disable, I will not mention each time the prompt is displayed. Rather, I assume that you provide the permissions or consent as required.

On a computer that is logged into a domain, you may not be able to manage UAC using this technique. Though you may be able to configure individual UAC features through policy settings, these features will more than likely be set so that you cannot configure them.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment